Education Structure in Argentina

The structure of Argentina education starts with the school education, followed by the higher education. The school education begins with early childhood education/pre-school education. 

School Education in Argentina

In Argentina, the basic general compulsory education lasts for 9 years leading to the “General Basic Education Certificate" (Certificado de Educacion General Basica). Secondary education is included in the last cycle of basic general education and polymodal education, and leads to the Bachillerato. In parallel to the upper-secondary-polymodal education, there is a technical secondary education which leads to the title of Tecnico. A few schools in Argentina offer programmes that last for 1 year and lead to the Bachillerato especializado.

Higher Education in Argentina

Higher education in Argentina is provided by national and private universities, university institutes and institutes. It is split up into three levels: tertiary education level, university level and postgraduate level. The National Interuniversity Council (Consejo Interuniversitario Nacional, or CIN) manages the policies of the national universities. Private universities in Argentina are independent but must be recognized by the state and their programmes and course structure must be approved by it. The National Commission for University Evaluation and Accreditation (Consejo Nacional de Evaluacion y Acreditacion Universitaria, or CONEAU) administers the external evaluations of all universities, accredits graduate programmes and provides permission for the setting up of new universities.

Structure of Argentina Education

Compulsory Education

Length of Compulsory Education:
  • Entry Age: 6
  • Exit Age: 14

Pre-School Education

  • Duration: 1 year
  • Ages: 5 to 6

Basic General Education

  • Duration: 9 years
  • Ages: 6 to 14
  • Credential Awarded: Certificate of primary education (Certificado de Educacion Primaria) or Certificate of basic general education (Certificado de Educacion General Basica)

Primary Education

  • Level: EGB1 and EGB2
  • Duration: 6 years
  • Grade: 1 to 6
  • Ages: 6-11

Secondary Education

Secondary education is divided into lower-secondary and upper-secondary education.


  • Level: EGB3
  • Duration: 3 years
  • Grades: 7-9
  • Ages: 12-14

Upper-Secondary (Polymodal Secondary) Education

  • Duration: 3 years
  • Ages: 15 to 17
  • Grades: 10-12
  • Credential awarded: Certificate of school education in.. (different fields) (Certificado de Educacion Polimodal en … different orientations), Bachiller en …(different fields), , Tecnicos Medios, Peritos, Auxiliares

Technical Secondary Education

  • School type: School of technical education (Escuela de Educacion Tecnica)
  • Duration: 3 years
  • Ages: 15 to 19
  • Credential Awarded: Technical constructor (Tecnico constructor), Electronic technician (Tecnico electronic), etc.

Higher Education

  • Ages: 18 and above
The higher education is split up into three levels:

Tertiary Education level: This level is related to education or technical professions
  • Duration: 1-3 years
University level: This level offers professional education
  • Duration: 4-6 years
Post-graduate level: This level offers specialized and research-oriented studies

School Leaving and Higher Education Credentials

  • Bachillerato
  • Bachillerato Especializado
  • Titulo Menor
  • Bachelor Degree (Bachiller Universitario)
  • Profesorado
  • Licenciatura
  • Professional Title
  • Especializacion
  • Master (Maestria)
  • Doctorate (Doctorado)
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

Know More »

  • No Press Releases to display

Know More »

Argentina Select a Country

Our Network :